How do I tell you

How do I explain what I love about you? Does it start with the love I have for you telling me I am wrong. The adoration I have for your ability to apologize earnestly. The respect I have for your morals and the way you challenge my point of view but accept it as mine. The way you make me want to clean my apartment. The way being around you makes me wish I wasn’t covered in cat hair.

How do I handle falling when I am not one to settle down. I am not one to give up my ways. I am terribly stubborn and overthink everything.

I suppose what you need to know now is that I am not looking to settle down. I am not looking to follow you into your life and lose my own. I don’t want you to become my only adventure. I want you to see a bright red and think of my favorite color of lipstick. I want you to read something and wonder what my opinion of it is. I want you to roll over and wonder if I am wide awake too. I want you to pick me up at the airport and ask me about my trip. I need you to understand sometimes I crumble into a puddle of tears and pizza, but most of the time I am made of coffee and determination. I need you to know I am so stubbornly independent it borders on stupidity.

If these are things you can live with then I can promise you this.

When you talk I will listen. When you walk I will watch. When you need me I will be here. I will notice your idiosyncrasies. I will be your partner to the end. We can support and revel in each others unconstrained lives. We will always be the other’s plus one.

Leave a Reply

